What Are My Options In An Automobile Accident Involving An Uninsured Or Underinsured Driver?
Under Florida law, it’s mandatory for drivers to obtain automobile insurance. However, the minimum coverage required is relatively low, and this increases the chances of being involved in an accident with a driver who is underinsured. In some cases, people may be driving illegally without any insurance at all.
Drivers with a valid Florida license plate are only required to carry $10,000 personal injury protection and $10,000 property damage liability. Bodily injury liability insurance, which provides coverage for more serious temporary or permanent injuries or death, is not mandatory under Florida law. People may believe they are obtaining full insurance coverage for themselves if they meet Florida’s insurance requirements, but this is often not the case. A car accident that results in personal injury may, and often does, require compensation above the minimum coverage required.
So, what should you do if you’re involved in an accident and the other driver is uninsured? Depending on your automobile insurance coverage, you may be eligible to claim compensation from your own insurance company. The extent of the compensation will depend on whether you have obtained uninsured and underinsured insurance coverage as part of your automobile insurance coverage. If the other driver has a minimal amount of coverage, you may be able to recover an amount up to the damage you’ve suffered, depending on the limits of your own coverage.
Contact an experienced Florida auto accident attorney to discuss your options for recovery if you’ve been involved in a car accident with an uninsured or underinsured driver. We can help you obtain the maximum amount of compensation to which you may be entitled.